collateral beauty

Poems with a glimmer

The Jury tells Ms. Sabotage to take a chill pill

Freaking out because I want you to be the one so badly.

I spun a web and you are tangled in it.

You have been measuring up to every benchmark

And I have skilfully used my pen to mark how high you have risen.

I spent 5 hours of yesterday trying to decipher when our downfall will occur,

Hardly recognizing we are still stuck in the overture of our splendid love.

Loving someone is a choice and I keep teetering between

Letting you truly see my scars

And smashing you to teeny tiny fragments

Until you become nothing but flecks of another unruly love gone cold.

I shiver at how calloused I can be and jaded to the

Fact that you have eased into my life

As if a strong summer breeze

Telling me “stick with me. I can show you how to howl at the moon like a Wolf or Lion.”

I have wanted this to be it, and my own summarization always falls flat.

I think I’ve been struggling to let love in.

Instead I mock it and mash it with my teeth.

I got it wrong, however.

You spun a web, and here I was tangled up in it

trying to decide if this is home or is it entrapment?

No matter.

The jury told the executioner to calm down.

Spend more time figuring out love’s algorithm.

Posted on