collateral beauty

Poems with a glimmer

The Possibility of Us

In six months, love became viable.

It revived a ceasefire and it ignited a spark.

I drew maps going Nowhere and Nowhere Fast

Until you drifted through the constellation of my withering heart

And pointed as if Peter Pan at the northern star.

I danced in lunar valleys that became hostile black voids

And deep, icy, oceans

That drowned Potential and Possibility.

You smiled at my flaws like a Love Bomb God.

I kept asking myself while plucking flower petals,

“Is this real or is it not?”

There were times when I danced to you

With my eyes

And there were times I fought with you

In silent excursions during internal secret wars.

You said “Love is a long road,”

But love wasn’t even a road in my realm.

It was a canyon of longing, a foreign word in the chilling revolving doors

Consisting of my love life.

Love was always in the next room and I was paralyzed by the Next After,

Tripped up by the uncertainty on Life’s Risky Ballroom Floor.

Still love became viable in the past six months.

I started drawing maps to Somewhere and Somewhere Slowly At Last.

You revived a ceasefire in an internal massacre.

You created fire from a dying spark.

There were times I escaped you when I never left the room,

But now I live and breathe in the rooms we are both in.

You smile at my flaws like a Love Bomb God.

You said, “Love is a long road.”

I chuckled because I knew you didn’t know how true that sentence is to me,

And how much I needed you and I to exist.

Shouting from the rooftops, “Yes, yes, it is!”

Posted on